Ensnared

anxiety

Anxiety.  It can be an UGLY word and an UGLY emotion.

Anxious: full of mental distress; greatly worried

According to WebMD, anxiety is linked to mental disorders, panic attacks, and social disorders. The site also includes symptoms of extreme anxiety include:

  • feelings of panic, fear, uneasiness
  • problems sleeping
  • not able to be still and calm

Leah MD would like to add upset stomach and/or the increased desire to eat junk food.

I am no doctor or therapist, and have no degree in anything related to this topic.  For those who have diagnosed anxiety disorders, I applaud you for getting help.  It takes a great degree of humility to reach out for support.

On top of all of the beautiful havoc anxiety can wreak on your life, it can also have a serious affect on others.  Fear alienates and destroys relationships, especially with those closest to you.  Anxiety is such a strong-hold that it turns you into someone you were never meant to be.  We hear one news story or a political fiasco and we lose all sense of composure. Fear engulfs our thought process and ability to hear truth, so all we hear is satan whispering “fear” into our ears.

This post is something I felt the need to write after observing the affects of anxiety in my own life as well as the world around me.  Our world is riddled with it.  The media loves to provoke it.  I’m here to tell you that it’s one of satan’s favorite tactics.  There aren’t too many emotions that can make us lose all self-control and keep us from relying on God. That’s what satan wants, to remove our dependence on the one he fears most.

Peter writes, “Cast all of your anxiety on him because he cares for you.”(1 Peter 5:7, NIV) When I read that, I think of the fishing nets being cast out to sea.  Peter is telling us to throw all of that worry and fear onto God.  You have to throw it in order for God to retrieve it.  He’s not going to pull it from your clenched fists.  You’ve got to recognize the issue so you can cast the net.

“He cares for you.”  Who do you “care” for?  Your children?  Your family? When your they are sick, do you wish you could take on their discomfort?  Do you wish you could take their pain away?  God wants the same thing for us.  He cares for us.  He wants to take the anxiety that ensnares our lives.  We were created for much more.

As I look at our world today, I see it as one big battle of good and evil;  God and satan; courage and fear; Narnia against the Snow Queen; Middle Earth versus Mordor.

Which side are you on?   I’m going with God.  He cares for me and I matter to him.  I care too much about the people in my life to allow anxiety to ruin my relationships.  Don’t let it rule your life any longer. Talk it out with a friend.  Find a pastor to pray with you.  Seek out a counselor who can rid you from the strong hold fear has on your life.

Dear one, God cares for you and so do I. Cast out that net.

Leave a Reply

